Leave a comment

I’m tired….of bullshit

I received the following bullshit as a forwarded email. It is attributed to Bill Cosby (I don’t know if that is accurate or not), and I felt it warranted a response. My response follows the original.

Bill Cosby “I’m 83 and Tired”
>
> I’m 83. Except for brief period in the 50′s when I was doing my National
> Service, I’ve worked hard since I was 17. Except for some serious
> health challenges, I put in 50-hour weeks, and didn’t call in sick in nearly
> 40 years. I made a reasonable salary, but I didn’t inherit my job or my
> income, and I worked to get where I am. Given the economy, it looks as
> though retirement was a bad idea, and I’m tired. Very tired.
>
> I’m tired of being told that I have to “spread the wealth” to people who
> don’t have my work ethic. I’m tired of being told the government will take
> the money I earned, by force if necessary, and give it to people too lazy
> to earn it.
>
> I’m tired of being told that Islam is a “Religion of Peace,” when every day I
> can read dozens of stories of Muslim men killing their sisters, wives and
> daughters for their family “honor”; of Muslims rioting over some slight
> offense; of Muslims murdering Christian and Jews because they aren’t
> “believers”; of Muslims burning schools for girls; of Muslims stoning
> teenage rape victims to death for “adultery”; of Muslims mutilating the
> genitals of little girls; all in the name of Allah, because the Qur’an and
> Shari’a law tells them to.
>
> I’m tired of being told that out of “tolerance for other cultures” we must let
> Saudi Arabia and other Arab countries use our oil money to fund mosques
> and madrassa Islamic schools to preach hate in Australia , New Zealand ,
> UK , America and Canada , while no one from these countries are allowed to
> fund a church, synagogue or religious school in Saudi Arabia or any other
> Arab country to teach love and tolerance..
>
> I’m tired of being told I must lower my living standard to fight global
> warming, which no one is allowed to debate.
>
> I’m tired of being told that drug addicts have a disease, and I must help
> support and treat them, and pay for the damage they do. Did a giant germ
> rush out of a dark alley, grab them, and stuff white powder up their noses
> or stick a needle in their arm while they tried to fight it off?
>
> I’m tired of hearing wealthy athletes, entertainers and politicians of all
> parties talking about innocent mistakes, stupid mistakes or youthful
> mistakes, when we all know they think their only mistake was getting
> caught. I’m tired of people with a sense of entitlement, rich or poor.
>
> I’m really tired of people who don’t take responsibility for their lives and
> actions. I’m tired of hearing them blame the government, or discrimination
> or big-whatever for their problems.
>
> I’m also tired and fed up with seeing young men and women in their teens and
> early 20′s be-deck them selves in tattoos and face studs, thereby making
> themselves un-employable and claiming money from the Government.
>
> Yes, I’m damn tired. But I’m also glad to be 83.. Because, mostly, I’m not
> going to have to see the world these people are making. I’m just sorry for
> my granddaughter and their children. Thank God I’m on the way out and not
> on the way in.

MY RESPONSE:
I’m only 34, but I’m tired too.

I’m tired of people who are in positions of relative privilege acting like they earned everything they have, while everyone who doesn’t have what they have is a lazy piece of garbage.

I’m tired of hearing about how if you just work hard, you can do anything and be anything and have anything. It’s a load of crap.

I’m tired of hearing about how each and every single human being on welfare is a lazy piece of crap who should be put to work. Many of them CAN’T work—how the fuck can you find a job and apply for it when you are illiterate? Or you have a mental illness? Or you are homeless? Maybe some could work, but maybe welfare offers a better life than scraping by on shitty minimum wage jobs (and you’d have to work more than one). Or maybe it is more cost-effective for a single mom to stay at home with her kids and be on welfare than work a shit job and give most of it over for child care. Have you SEEN the costs of quality child-care lately? And good luck actually getting in to some of these places—they have long waiting lists.

I’m tired of hearing that Muslims are our enemies and are hate-filled and loathsome human beings who are bringing humanity down. Please. Spare me. The goddamn Christians are JUST AS BAD, but they are white, so we tend to forget about them. Not every single Muslim person is out there killing others or suicide bombing and shit. And a LOT of Christians are out there crusading against all kinds of stupid shit, and murdering abortion doctors or “protesting” funerals or spreading hatred of gay people. Fuck the Christians. Muslims are not the problem—nutcases who use religion as some twisted, warped way of furthering their bullshit agendas are the problem. Muslims are not unique in having extremist fundamentalists in their ranks. So please, stop with the anti-Muslim rhetoric—it’s getting really, really old.

I’m tired of hearing about how badly Muslims treat “their” women when, in many ways, Western culture is as bad in its attitudes toward women. We may not stone them to death, but we still blame women for being raped and teach our daughters that it is their responsibility to not get raped. We still treat women, by and large, like shit, so please stop the ridiculous posturing.

I’m tired of hearing about how global warming is a made-up thing. It’s not. It’s fucking not. It’s real, and we are doing it. Would it really kill us to just cut back on the amount of stupid, useless shit we buy and use and eat? Couldn’t we really just all do with a bit less for the sake of preserving the goddamn planet? I mean, yeah, Smartphones and shit are just wonderful, but we also need things, like, you know, air to breathe and clean water to drink—silly shit like that. So can we just focus on keeping ourselves alive? Really. Cut back on the consumerism—stop buying your kids truckloads of plastic shit made in China because you want to give them everything you never had, or whatever bullshit excuse you tell yourself. The amount of shit that we in the West have compared to other people in other places is actually offensive. We can do with less. WE CAN.

Also, quit fucking eating products of animal agriculture. Really. It contributes more to global warming than the entire global transportation industry. For god’s sake, stop eating meat, dairy and eggs. Just…stop. It’s not worth the price we are paying for your tasty food. Even the goddamn UN figured this out, in, like, 2006. So really, stop. Now.

I’m tired of everyone shitting on drug addicts. There is a reason why many people take drugs. It’s because their lives SUCK and they want escape. Many are sexually abused. Have you ever been sexually abused? No? Then shut the fuck up about how others deal with the shittiness of their lives. Poverty sucks. Rape sucks. Child molestation sucks. And you know what? None of you who bitch about drug addicts have ever suffered that shit. Maybe, instead of talking about what shit drug addicts are, people should get off their lazy, self-centred, affluent asses and help do something about the ROOT CAUSES of drug addiction. I agree—drug addiction is not a disease. It’s a result of a shitty fucking world where some people have lots of wealth and most people don’t. It’s a result of a world where kids get sexually/physically abused and they SHOULDN’T. NO KID should ever suffer what some of these drug addicts did.

Also, many drug addicts are prostitutes, whose pimps keep them nice and high all the time so that they go and work the street and make money for the lazy-assed piece of shit man exploiting them. I’m tired of hearing about how prostitutes are all lazy whores who love having sex for a living because it’s just so gosh darn EASY. If you think that, you seriously need to read more, and talk to some of these women, who are human beings.

I’m also tired of people’s sense of entitlement. Much like the asshole who wrote that original rant, who thinks that just because he has “worked hard”, he’s entitled to remove himself from all the world’s problems and not be part of any solutions. I’m tired of people like that ranting and bitching about everything, while never once lifting a single finger to do anything about it, and blaming everyone else. It’s the welfare bums. It’s the government. It’s the Muslims. No, you know what? It’s assholes like that. Assholes who think that because they’ve managed to do well in life, likely because of their privilege or circumstance, everyone should be able to do the same. Just get a job, and all your troubles magically will go away. Just quit taking drugs, and PRESTO, you’ll be a raging success! Wow, spoken like a true dickhead. IT’S NOT THAT SIMPLE.

I’m tired of old losers who bitch about people with tattoos and/or piercings. What the living fuck is it to you if someone gets a tattoo or piercings? Why would having tattoos or piercings make someone unemployable if that person is qualified for the job? So, what about fat or unattractive people? Are they similarly unemployable, because you don’t like how they look? You may not like tattoos—fair enough. THEN DON’T GET ONE. But what the hell gives you the right to condemn someone else for liking them and getting them? That just screams arrogance to me—anyone who isn’t exactly like you is somehow less. Fuck off.

I’m tired of stupid old people who look back fondly on how awesome “their day” was. It wasn’t. You are remembering all the good stuff and conveniently forgetting all the bad. It’s called “nostalgia”. Your time was NOT better. It was NOT simpler. It was NOT purer. That is bullshit.

If it was so goddamn great “back then”, then why did women have to fight so hard to be considered people? And black people, too. If “your day” was so fucking wonderful, why did it take a civil rights movement to give black people rights that they, as HUMAN BEINGS, were ENTITLED to? Why did no one speak out about violence against women? Domestic violence was kind of a thing in “your day”, wasn’t it? Gotta keep those women in line. Why did people freak out about the birth control pill and girls/women FINALLY having agency over their bodies? Why were people shipped off to useless shit wars in far off places? Why were people killing themselves after the great crash, when there was no social safety net to catch them? Please. Just shut the hell up about how the world is going to shit because this generation sucks.

No, it doesn’t. But it’s easy to blame them, isn’t it? It’s easy to blame other groups of people for all the shit in the world, while you just sit there on your porch, congratulating yourself on how awesome you are and how hard you worked and how everyone else is shit.

I agree with one thing—thank god the person who wrote this is on the way out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

