2 Comments

Why I don’t talk about the joy veganism brings me

A common criticism I have received as a vegan advocate is that I don’t spend enough time informing others about the joy I derive from being vegan. It’s becoming a bit of a theme, and I’m going to start using the following two responses.

1) Veganism isn’t about me. It’s not about my joy, my happiness, or my fulfillment. It’s about justice for animals, so that is what I talk about.

2) Do you go around talking to everyone about how not molesting children brings joy to your life? No? I thought not. That’s because not exploiting others is about basic moral decency, not your personal joy.

2 comments on “Why I don’t talk about the joy veganism brings me

  1. What a great post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I just started my own vegetarian/political blog, so feel free to check it out and let me know what you think!
    http://MannyRutinel.com

    Have a great day! 😀

  2. Thanks, Manny, much appreciated! I’d be happy to check out your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

