8 Comments

Fuck New Welfarists

If you are some misinformed New Welfarist who wants to defend Direct Action Everywhere or Ricky Gervais or any of that other bullshit, please don’t waste your (or my) time here. If, however, you realize how stupid New Welfarism is and want to learn that there is a way to actually HELP animals rather than perpetuating the animals-as-property paradigm, then please feel free to leave comments and engage in reasonable conversation. I am not interested in hearing New Welfarism defended on my blog–there is no defense for it. If you want to read up on the ONLY animal rights advocacy that is ever going to actually help animals, then please read up on the Abolitionist Approach as formulated by Gary Francione. Go to his website at http://www.abolitionistapproach.com or read any of his numerous books. Start with Eat Like You Care, as it’s an easy read for anyone new to the ideas. Also check out The International Vegan Association (http://www.internationalvegan.org/boston/) for some great information and ways to get involved. If you are into podcasts, check out NZ Vegan at http://nzveganpodcast.blogspot.ca/. There are lots and lots of Abolitionist vegans who are doing meaningful and useful advocacy rather than soliciting donations and working with industry to exploit animals more efficiently. Look around and see what they have to say. And go vegan if you aren’t already–it’s the least we can do for animals.

I really wonder why so many big welfare organizations aren’t actually advocating veganism when it should be the first thing we should do! I can post more about that later, I guess. In the meantime, what are you waiting for? Go vegan.

8 comments on “Fuck New Welfarists

  1. I’d never head of the term ‘New Welfarist’. I haven’t publicised Ricky Gervais on my blog, or at all for that matter. He is nowhere near as obnoxious as Russell Brand, who occasionally declares himself to be ‘vegan’ when it is fashionable to be.

    • I’m not sure why so many vegans get so excited when some celebrity or another declares themselves vegan. They rarely ever are, and if they are, they rarely ever stay that way. I am happy to not talk about Ricky Gervais, but I’d been seeing a lot of vegans touting him as some sort of hero and was annoyed enough to make a post about it. And of course, a bunch of “vegans” came hustling to his defense.

  2. Just ran across your blog looking at the new absurdity of Gervais online. I was very heavy into animal rights advocacy for 11 years travelling the world, using and spreading abolitionist views in this advocacy. After this time though I got so fed up with these new welfarists that I simply ducked out of the public AR scene all together. Just reading people comment on your blog posts makes me cringe and be thankful I no longer work in the general public when it comes to advocacy. Major kudos for your views and we’ll thought out posts and responses. Gervais as well as these apologists… aka welfarists, should not to be set upon any pedestals.

    As a side note I love your blog name and am a bit jealous. My wife and I are going back to Asia for 8-12 months to do some AR work and travel and if we were to do a blog we wanted to call ourselves the Grumpy Vegans! Keep up the great work.

    • Oh, wow, thanks for giving me a breath of fresh air on here! Always lovely to meet a fellow Abolitionist vegan 🙂 Thanks, too, for your support–it means a great deal to me. I understand your frustration with welfarists–it’s hard to believe anyone can actually think that way. But kudos to you for your advocacy, as well.

      As to the name, well, that’s a response to someone who once told me, without knowing me at all as a person, that I am joyless because I’m vegan. I started this blog as a thumbing-my-nose response.

      I think Grumpy Vegans is a good name, although there is already a pair of Abolitionist vegans who go by the moniker “Grumpy Old Vegans”. LOL! There are lots of other words to use, too: Judgmental Vegans, Militant Vegans, Angry Vegans, Bitter Vegans, the list goes on and on. Just ask a non-vegan if you’re having trouble!

      Seriously, though, thanks again for stopping by and lending your support. And have a wonderful trip to Asia! I’ll keep an eye out for your blog 🙂

  3. Great post, I agree completely.

    It’s time people stopped looking to celebrities for validation, this really bugs me. celebrities may be pretty our funny our good actors, etc, but beyond that they are usually non-expert in anything. if george Clooney said global warming was a hoax and some ugly, old MIT professor with a lifetimes experience in the field said it wasn’t who are you going to believe! Don’t listen to pretty people unless you have good reason to believe they are expert in the field they are exposing.

    Second celebrities like Gervais who cynically exploit the low hanging fruit of uncontroversial, popular welfare movements, should be called out as attention grabbing narcissists trying simply to boost their own popularity. I don’t know about “an idiot abroad”, but a narcissist at home”.

    Lastly “new welfarists”, love that! So fed up of people saying of “humane” exploitation “happy lives” and “painless death” , seriously if these people wouldn’t want it for themselves then they should shut up. Still I think “humane exploiters” would hit home harder.

    Perhaps you could do a survey; how would you describe yourself?

    I like to kill animals (Hunter/sociopath)
    I like others to kill animals for me (carnist)
    I like animals to be killed so I can believe I am not to be responsible (vegetarian)
    I only eat plants, but I can’t change other people our influence politics (ostrich vegan)
    I only eat plants and I won’t be happy until animals are truly free (abolitionist vegan)
    etc…
    making people think is the hardest challenge, or is it empathise? 🙂

    • I agree with you. I don’t understand the cult of the celebrity, as though simply by being rich and famous these people are somehow worth more than anyone else and their opinions matter more. I have never cared about what celebrities think or say. They are just people like everyone else, and in my experience there are a lot of stupid people out there.

      I agree that Gervais is going for the low-hanging fruit–he picks easy issues that won’t offend his fan base. That’s why I don’t get how anyone can think this guy is some sort of hero for veganism! He’s not even vegan. Ugh.

      “New Welfarists” is a term coined by Gary Francione. If you haven’t already, I would encourage you to read some of this work. He has a web page, http://www.abolitionistapproach.com, or you can find him on Facebook. His book Eat Like You Care is easy to read and addresses some of the inane “arguments” we vegans hear all the time.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Always great to hear from fellow vegans 🙂

  4. Welfarists don’t promote veganism because they don’t want to. They enjoy eating meat and dairy because yes, it tastes good and the majority of humankind have always done so since evolutionary times, as do the majority of all animals.
    I think veganism is honourable and I respect it massively because its a huge life change and a sacrifice made for the good of animals. But you can’t tell everyone else in the whole world how to live their lives and to become vegan. No high welfare farming isn’t perfect and yes animals are still killed but they do live longer, more natural and happier lives. Yes some people who eat meat still care about this! I understand you still fundamentally disagree with it but people will always eat meat, I’m sorry but you have to accept that. You shouldn’t criticize meat eaters, which are the norm, for at least trying to minimise suffering of the animals raised for meat.
    You come across as aggressive and in the long run, being extremely unaccepting of other lifestyles is only going to make you unhappy. Whilst not changing anything or improving the lives of any animals. People will only become vegan if they want to, and most people are too selfish to make that massive sacrifice and give up many things they enjoy and a normal life.

    • Hi. I am not sure why you are here, given your comment, and I am not sure why you think I am telling anyone “what to do”. I’m not. What I am actually saying is that most people already think it’s wrong to needlessly harm other animals. We don’t need to eat, wear or otherwise use them, so all our use of them is needless. Becoming vegan is simply aligning our actions with what we already believe. It’s that simple. And it’s not a “personal choice” when there is a victim. We victimize other animals–that is not “personal”. If you had read any if my comments you would have seen that I have already said this.

      In terms of my “aggression”, well, I’m not too concerned about that. As I have already stated, I am happy to talk with anyone who has anything reasonsble to say, and I have made it clear that I don’t tolerate people coming here and promoting animal welfare. If you think that is aggressive, so be it.

Leave a Reply

